What Are Martial Art Disciplines?

Any method of practicing martial arts is called a 'discipline'. Examples of this would be karate, kung-fu, tae kwon do, etc. Each discipline has its own set up moves and techniques, varying greatly depending on the discipline. 

What is a 'Hard' Martial Art?

Hard martial arts styles, such as Karate or Tae Kwon Do, consist of linear movements, direct strikes, and hard blocks. These styles focus on taking down the target through the application of direct damage. This has a great deal of practical value, as being able to punch and kick an opponent is always a valuable skill to fall back on when a particular lock or hold does not work.  

What is a 'Soft' Martial Art?

Soft martial arts, such as Hapkido, consist of circular movements and tend to use ones opponents inertia against them. These styles focus on taking down the target through locks or disabling techniques.   The real value of these arts is the ability to disable your opponent without causing major damage -- allowing the defender to fall under the legal description of self defense.

What is a 'Traditional' Martial Art?​

Traditional martial arts incorporate the philosophies of martial arts into the training. In Tae Kwon Do, the Tae Kwon Do tenets provide this philosophy -- teaching proper responsibility and control of the training students will receive. Likewise, Hapkido's philosphies of Hapkido also teach similar concept. Non-traditional martial arts do not incorporate these philosophies, and the students in those schools tend to be more aggressive and confrontational.  

What do you teach at UKMA?

We combine the hard art of Tae Kwon Do and the soft art of Hapkido to provide you both tools. We are a traditional school and focus on the philosophy of martial arts.